About the AAVC

The AAVC started in 1958 to enhance the quality of veterinary instruction and advocate for veterinary clinical teaching, service, and research. AAVC members are veterinary clinicians engaged in teaching and/or research at the professional, graduate or postgraduate level at veterinary colleges in the United States and Canada.

The AAVC sponsors programs such as the Veterinary Internship and Residency Matching Program, the annual AAVC Resident and Faculty awards, the Residents' Professional Development & Leadership Conference, the Early-Career Faculty Professional Development & Leadership Conference and the annual Hospital Directors and Department Heads meeting.

Academic veterinary colleges in the United States and Canada maintain membership in the AAVC. Clinical faculty at member veterinary colleges are also members of the AAVC. Attendees of the AAVC Resident and Early-Career Faculty Professional Development and Leadership Conferences must be nominated and registered by their home institution. Please contact your department head or hospital director for more information.

Electronic Mailing Lists

The AAVC maintains an electronic mailing list for Department Heads & Hospital Directors at member institutions. All AAVC-related announcements including meeting and conference registrations are distributed through this list. If you are a new department head, assistant department head, hospital director or assistant hospital director, please contact [email protected] to request access to the list.

The AAVC also maintains an electronic mailing list of clinical faculty in member institutions for the distribution of faculty position announcements at member institutions. If your institution would like to distribute a job to this list, please contact [email protected] for more information.

Member Institutions

  • Angell Animal Medical Center
  • Auburn University
  • University of California, Davis
  • Colorado State University
  • Cornell University
  • University of Florida
  • University of Georgia
  • University of Illinois
  • Iowa State University
  • Kansas State University
  • Lincoln Memorial University
  • Midwestern University
  • Louisiana State University
  • Michigan State University
  • University of Minnesota
  • Mississippi State University
  • University of Missouri-Columbia
  • North Carolina State University
  • The Ohio State University
  • Oklahoma State University
  • Ontario Veterinary College (University of Guelph)
  • Oregon State University
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • University of Prince Edward Island (Atlantic Veterinary College)
  • Purdue University
  • University of Saskatchewan (Western College of Veterinary Medicine)
  • University of Tennessee
  • Texas A&M University
  • Tufts University
  • Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Washington State University
  • University of Wisconsin-Madison